The European Athletics Team Championships have still a young history. In Braunschweig the Championships will take place for the 5th time. Since 2008 there are four leagues with promotion and relegation.

League System

The Super League and the First League have 12 teams each, while the Second League and the Third League 8 and 14 respectively. Team scores will be calculated by combination of men and women's points, rather than the previous individual male and female scores. Each year, three teams are relegated from the Super League and are replaced by three teams promoted from the First League. Two teams are relegated/promoted among First, Second and Third League teams.

Points system - Super League

The winner of each discipline gets 12 points; the second gets 11 points – and so on. Athletes or relay teams who will be disqualified or do not finish get no points.

The Team with most points wins the Championships as European Team champion.

For more detailed information about the rules please download these PDF.



Super Germany are the champions once more

22/06/2014 - Super Germany are the champions once more
Germany, the first nation to win the Super League of the European Athletics Team Championships five years ago, are celebrating again after taking the title on a glorious afternoon in front of their own fans in Braunschweig on Sunday. more »

Live-Stream, Live-Blog and Live-Results

22/06/2014 - Live-Stream, Live-Blog and Live-Results
Follow the Braunschweig 2014 action live online: more »

Gabius-inspired Germany eye Super League glory

21/06/2014 - Gabius-inspired Germany eye Super League glory
A compelling opening day of the Super League in the European Athletics Team Championships in Braunschweig on Saturday has Germany leading the way after an afternoon their fans will remember for a long time. more »